Almost there! And why planning and I are not friends.

I don’t think it’s a huge secret that I’ve had a difficult time planning our wedding, but if it is, now you know. From the beginning, I had pictured a very different wedding for Phil and I. I had wanted to get married outside in a field of pretty poppies or sunflowers, or in a park surrounded by stunning forests. I wanted a short reception with perhaps just cake and punch (or punch and pie, hah!) during the afternoon. Maybe we’d have a bonfire and sit around well into the night, just enjoying each other’s company. I probably wouldn’t wear a traditional wedding gown, and my bridesmaids would all be rocking tie-dyed dresses that we found on sale.
But I soon realized that was the wedding that I wanted and that sounded perfect to me. But it wasn’t a wedding that included my fiancé’s wishes and took his feelings into account. And since we started working together, our wedding has changed dramatically. It will sound snobbish and ungrateful for me to say that there are some aspects of our wedding that I am not crazy about, but it’s true. In the end though, we are blessed to have family and friends who have helped us get here. And at the end of the day, if Phil and I are married, then our wedding will be a roaring success, because that’s the whole point!
It’s been hard though, to keep my head when things have gotten crazy. I’ve made appointments with vendors that they never showed up to. My seamstress forgot who I was and hadn’t made any alterations on my dress when I went for a (scheduled!) appointment. All of my bridal party is having separate hair and makeup appointments because I didn’t have the foresight to just hire one person to do it all, and that’s created a planning and logistics nightmare that gives me headaches just thinking about. My own mother called me a bridezilla. And sometimes I just feel like crying.
But in eighteen days, when I have to get up at 6 a.m. for my hair appointment, and have to drive here, there, and everywhere for a million different appointments, and deliver my arch to the ceremony space no earlier than three hours before the ceremony, and pick up the flowers and get them to the reception space, and by then my hair is falling out of its updo because of all my running around, it will not matter. Because that is the day I am marrying the most incredible man I know. And at the end of the night, it will all be worth it. I just have to hang in there a little bit longer.
I can’t wait to see you all and share it with you!

P.S.—Make sure you say something nice about the details, even if they look like crap 🙂

Leave a Reply

