An awesome officiant

Since the beginning of our engagement, Phil and I have been concerned about who was going to officiate our wedding. Neither of us has grown up in a very religious household and we don’t belong to a church. We don’t know any pastors or feel comfortable  asking someone we don’t know to preside over this incredibly important moment. So early on, we talked about asking someone we know to officiate the ceremony. We came up with a list of friends and family we thought would be a good fit, but didn’t actually ask anyone. I started to get nervous that maybe it wasn’t a great idea to choose someone who hadn’t done something like this before. What if they get nervous and back out? What if they don’t remember a key element during the ceremony and we end up not officially married? What if they get sick? The more I read and thought about it, the more anxious I got about the whole thing.

Then one day I was talking to a friend at work who was recently married. His officiant was a friend of his wife. Then I talked to another close friend, whose sister was married by someone she knew. More and more people I knew were getting married by friends and had really great experiences and stories. So I decided I’d ask her and if she said no, we’d find a professional, but if she said yes, we’d have an amazing, memorable, meaningful ceremony performed by a friend who knows and loves both of us.

So last week I dove in and asked, and she said yes! She was ordained online before I even made it home after dinner! I’m so glad she’s as excited as we are and we can’t wait to write this ceremony and have her marry us. Only seven more months to go!

Leave a Reply

