Wedding websites have taken over my life

Is it just me or do most newly engaged people waste an incredible amount of time looking at wedding stuff online? Our wedding is nearly two years away but judging by the way I’ve pinned my little heart out,  you’d think it was next week! Crazy! How does anyone make up their minds when there is wedding stimulation overload out there?!

During the past two or three years pretty much all of my friends have gotten engaged or married. Just when I feel like I’m the last one in the group to make this decision, fifteen more people update their statuses on Facebook. At first I was getting a little frustrated when people who got engaged after us were getting married before us, but I realize that everyone has to plan the time and place that are perfect for them. It would be a lie to say I wasn’t bummed when a close friend who had asked me to be a bridesmaid decided instead to have a destination wedding in the Bahamas. But I know that that was the best choice they could make for their own wedding and while I wish I could’ve been a part of it, it just didn’t work out. We’ve been to some pretty unique weddings in the past couple years and have a few more lined up this year as well (we have save-the-dates for three so far!) so even if I didn’t have my own wedding to plan (eventually), it’s definitely been on my mind lately. I want our wedding to be a wonderful celebration of who were are as individuals and who we are as a couple. And so my life has been overrun by the need to constantly peruse other wedding blogs, wedding planning sites, pictures of venues and floral arrangements, and bridesmaids’ dresses (even though I haven’t even asked anyone to stand up with me besides the sisters [his and mine].) Just when I tell myself to stop being crazy and log off the computer, I find something else that distracts me and I waste another hour! I’m a woman obsessed!

So anyway, that’s where I’ve been lately. If you haven’t heard from me in a while and are wondering if I’m in a coma or something, fear not. I’m just wasting away on the InterWebs.

Question for you: What’s the coolest thing you’ve seen or done at a wedding?

2 thoughts on “Wedding websites have taken over my life

  1. I too am obsessed with wedding websites.. I’m currently going through all the blogs on weddingbee.com april post.. lol hours and hours of wedding ideas and pictures flying through my head

  2. I’ve been married almost a year and still can’t quit the wedding websites. It’s a sickness.

    To answer your question, though, I’ll be lame and say that my own wedding was the coolest. I played corn hole, had a sundae bar, and got married. What more could I have asked for?

Leave a Reply

